Ah, Knitting.

win_20161211_14_56_53_proA few weeks ago, the day before Thanksgiving, I bought a pair of circular knitting needles on Amazon. They finally arrived on Sunday (love you, special USPS Christmas holiday extended package delivery services!). They are size 15US (10mm) and 47″ long tip to tip (120cm). I needed a set that big and so long because I am knitting a blanket for my bed, which is a full-size. I have only made one this size once before, and i was a gift for a friend. Based on how long it took me last time, I’m expecting to work on this for approximately 3 months. This is if I spend 2-4 hours a day on it. Because some days I’ve got a lot to do, I’m trying to put in as much time as I can on it from the start. So far I’ve got about 12 hours pushed into this project already. It’s about 7-8 inches long and is approximately 410 stitches per row.

win_20161214_12_53_43_proI’m sticking with my method of using only scrap yarn from my mom’s old projects, that way again I’m helping her make room for new yarns and colors, and am recycling every scrap possible. Some scraps only last a single row, while others have gone to make 2 inch long stripes.

To practice knitting for this big project, I’d made a few smaller items on a smaller set of circular needles I got from my mom. One of them is multi colored just so I could get used to joining yarns again (it’s been years since my last large scale project with my Doctor Who scarves!).

win_20161214_12_54_24_pro

 

 

2 responses to “Ah, Knitting.

  1. If the previous blanket you’re referring to is the one I think you’re referring to, I think I still have that blanket around here somewhere. Can’t remember exactly where, but I’m pretty sure I still have it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

