I Miss Windows 8.

 

I genuinely miss Windows 8. And never should have taken that free upgrade. See, despite the Windows 10 free update thing saying you “can go back to your previous version within 30 days” I couldn’t for the life of me figure out HOW to do that. And no matter what instructions I followed or found, it didn’t work… Until one day I was looking for another setting entirely and found the one that lets you revert to a previous version/build. Unfortunately, my old version had been long since deleted and I had resigned myself to being stuck with 10 simply because I just really don’t have the money to buy even an old system. And I don’t really like any of the Linux flavors.

Anyway, I miss Windows 8. Not the buggy and unstable 8.1. Just regular 8. I’m likely in the minority here, but it was very easy to use and navigate. And I found it much simpler than the traditional Windows interface from versions past. Don’t get me wrong, I was raised using Windows on computers. 98 will always be my preferred operating system for the sole fact that it was the last truly stable and solid operating system Windows ever made – with XP and 7 vying for second. But 8, for all that it was, worked. It worked. At least, until Microsoft went back and tweeked it to put the Windows launch button back into the task bar. That was literally the only true change to 8 that was made for 8.1, and it broke the operating system.

That said – I’m now on Windows 10, and I hate it. All of the above are valid reasons for pining over my former operating system, and the regrets of switching to 10 because “it was free” – but the one thing I miss the absolute most about 8 is the way that you could dock your apps to one side or the other. Top, bottom, left, right – it didn’t matter. Windows 8 made it a lot easier for me to multi task. I always have a minimum of 3 tumblr_ofavchyoou1ueccv4o1_540programs open at any given time. My screenshot in this post shows 4 programs open down in the task bar, and as I write this I’ve got 3 open. Unfortunately, the flexability of 8 was lost in the upgrade to 10. Windows 8 would allow me to have up to 4 programs docked and active at a time. One in each corner, with my screen divided into quarters. Double that if I had a secondary monitor linked into my laptop. Windows 10? I can’t have more than 2 programs docked at a time. Left and right only. This is very inconvenient for me, as I’ll be working on a picture in Gimp, writing in LibreOffice, doing research in Wikipedia, and further research in Firefox (often cross referencing between Wikipedia and articles and websites in my browser) – all at the same time for a single project. It was a very convenient and very useful feature for me. Now, I have to waste time going down to my task bar to find, select, then choose what else needs to be snapped into place beside it, or resizing each window – the interior of which may not properly shift or resize with it using this method – just to be able to do what I need to do. I became accustomed to the 30 second timing of opening and snapping my programs into position and then getting right to work. It actually helped my productivity. Unfortunately, it also spoiled me a little bit.

One response to “I Miss Windows 8.

Leave a Reply

