Sleep is good. Sleep is needed. So why can’t I get any!

The last few nights have been one thing after another. After a wonderful Father’s Day dinner with my family at our favorite All-You-Can-Eat buffet (it was Chinese! Yay!) my son ended up sleeping through the night with a nice full belly.

But not me. Heartburn. Then insomnia. I got to sleep around 4AM.

Then I got woken up at 8AM. Had a long day with appointments, errands. Etc. Had a modest dinner, but….. Heartburn so bad I once again was up all night. Fell asleep around 3AM.

Was woken up for no reason at 8AM Tuesday (yesterday) morning. Couldn’t get back to sleep. A day of more errands. I felt the urge to nap, but fought it as long as I could so that I would be able to sleep last night. I ended up taking a 20 minute nap and didn’t even notice it (I’d fallen asleep watching a Youtube playlist). The result? I didn’t get to sleep until 4AM. My body does this weird thing where even if I take a 10 minute nap during the day, it decides “hey you got more sleep earlier! Guess what you have more energy now to keep going longer!” – Brain gets in on it too, in the form of racing thoughts. Ugh.

And so this morning, I was woken up at 9AM and managed to get 10 minutes more of sleep beyond that – but then everyone around me decided to be loud as fuck for no reason… Knowing that I haven’t been sleeping well.

I am exhausted. I try not to take meds for sleeping, as my body can become dependent on it. But damn I need some sleep. I’m going to take some sleeping pills tonight after my son goes to sleep, that way hopefully I’ll get to sleep before or around midnight. I’d be taking melatonin, which helps with sleep, but my body doesn’t process supplements well (I had a hell of a time with prenatals back when I was pregnant), but back when that was discovered by my doctors, they didn’t have vitamelts, gummies, and all the assorted other forms of them that they have today. So I’ll be trying that when I can scrape together the change to pick some up at Kroger. (Cheapest place in town to get them, BUT the quality of even the store brand is really good. I say that as a former marketing rep from my last job. I hated vitamin sample day, but at least I learned a LOT about the products and had access to info most people generally have to dig for. So it wasn’t all bad.)

And yes, I’ve tried Sleepytime and all it’s lovely variants. It makes me sick, so I stopped trying that. And Chamomile doesn’t do anything for me.life

 

3 responses to “Sleep is good. Sleep is needed. So why can’t I get any!

    • I’ve looked at those before when buying stuff for my mom during the Terrible Neighbors saga of posts. I’ll give it a try!

      Like

  1. I’m really sorry to hear this! I know how horrible this is. You may or may not remember that I have severe insomnia and have had it for about 14 years now, averaging between 30 minutes and 2 1/2 a night. I’ve been up tonight since midnight. I’ve tried every sleep aid available, including every prescription many times over. Right now, I take eight sleeping pills before I go to bed and I have another prescription sleeping pill I’m to take when I wake up at 11:30 or midnight to get me back to sleep for another hour or two. Trust me, I feel your pain. I wish I could suggest something, but it sounds like you’re reluctant to go the medication route.I can’t really blame you there, but sometimes that’s the only thing that can help some people. I really wish I had good advice, but since I’ve never found good relief myself, I’m afraid I’m not the person to be telling you anything. All I can do is give you feedback on the prescription medications. I wish you serious luck. Everyone deserves rest. Theoretically, everyone needs “X” hours of sleep a night. I’ve been going for so many years on 1 /12 to 2 1/2 that I’ve come to believe I don’t need that, but over the past year, my body’s been breaking down, and Gretchen is trying to convince me this is playing a role. She might be right. I’m trying to find ways to get more sleep. Somehow. I hope you find something that works.

    Like

Leave a Reply

