Cloudbook Troubles

So I’ve posted before about my computer problems. Sunday I’ll have money again and will be able to buy the thermal paste needed to even consider cracking open my other laptop and trying to fix it. Since it’s such a pain in the arse to find the stuff here in town, I’m just gonna buy it online from Radio Shack or Amazon. (Probably Amazon since it’ll probably be a lot cheaper.)

But in the meantime, I’ve got this ridiculous brick.

acer-aspire-one-cloudbook

32GB internal storage and 2GB of RAM, and windows 10 so full of bloatware it took me 4 hours to get most of it off the machine this morning… Speaking of this morning…

Microsoft put out yet another “build” of Windows 10, which re-installed every single app and program that I had uninstalled when I first got this brick. And not just the Windows programs, but also the Acer bloatware as well. No matter how hard I tried to unistall the stuff, it would re-install seconds later! It was maddening! So, I had to resort to dicking around with the Power Shell, and removing the programs that way. My first attempt, I seriously mucked it up. So I had to reset the entire machine to Factory. Thankfully, I keep ALL of my files and documents, pictures, etc on an external hard drive. All I had to do was unplug the thing thing before all this began, and that was that.

So, I set it to reset the machine, and went to bed. Woke up to have it waiting on me to finish the reset. Did that. Well, when it came back up, with a clean Windows 10 install – that’s when I had to get to work and deal with the unwanted programs and apps. Once again, seconds after uninstall – the programs were reinstalled by Microsoft. So, first thing was first, I downloaded, but did not yet install, Revo Uninstaller freeware version. LOVE that program! Then, I booted up the Power Shell in Administrator mode, hit up Google for the troubleshooting thread I’d found the night before, and paid much closer attention to it, and related threads. Then, I got to work. I copy and pasted bits of code that were relevant to my situation into Notepad, then tweeked it a bit to take out the apps and programs I actually wanted to keep (such as Groove, Calendar, Mail, Weather, etc.) and then I did the smart thing – I copy and pasted all of THAT into an email and sent it to myself just in case I messed up again. Then, I plugged it into Power Shell. It got rid of most of the programs in the list. Minecraft (a trial for Windows 10) and Candy Crush: Soda Saga (another trial for Windows 10) were not removed, as well as 2 other programs. Those, however, I know there’s a way to get rid of, I just couldn’t be arsed to deal with them after the 4 hour battle this morning. Anyway, once THAT was done, THEN I discovered I had MORE internal storage memory than when I first took the damned thing out of the box earlier this month! It jumped from 6GB to 12.7GB of free space! And this was a whopping improvement over the 225MB of free space I had left after Windows 10 had updated/restarted my computer without warning in the middle of watching a Youtube video last night! (We’ll get to the 225MB of space problem in a few moments.)

So, at this point I install Revo, get it going to get rid of a few things that you can only uninstall the old fashioned Windows way, but DON’T show up in the programs list to uninstall and change in the first place! So, Revo got used to quickly shred and get rid of those. After which, I ran a few optimization tools it has to track down all traces of anything left over from all the bloatware, as well as the programs I uninstalled (such as now useless registry keys, empty program folders, etc.) I now sit here, with this brick, nearly bloatware free…. But I know that when Windows 10 does a complete build update again….  I’ll be faced with the same exact situation. It’s a good thing I keep everything on an external.

Now then, what led to all of this? Remember that 225MB of space I mentioned having been all that was left of my free space on this machine after Windows 10 updated itself/restarted my computer without warning? Yeah. What happens when Windows does that is it doesn’t simply update your operating system like Windows 8.1 and older used to do. Oh no – it installs an entire operating system. Not updates, not patches, not data packages, but an entirely new operating system. The latest greatest version of Windows 10. This in and of itself wouldn’t be much of a problem, if not for a feature of Windows 10 that was built in from the start… which enables a person to go back to the previous build or version of Windows within 30 days of the upgrade. However, if you try to go back to a previous build of 10, or to a previous version of Windows, it’s a pain in the arse to do so. What makes it possible at all to revert to a previous build of 10, or a previous Windows version is that it keeps a backup copy on your system for 30 days, which it will automatically dump after the deadline and it then becomes impossible to revert back.

What took up the remaining 5-6GB of my internal storage was the entirety of the previous version of Windows 10! And nothing I did would make it give me more memory… except a Factory Reset.

Now, there IS a solution to this problem, from Microsoft itself no less! Simply upgrade to Pro for $100. You can then turn off the automatic update/upgrade feature of Windows 10… a thing that CANNOT be done in the regular Home edition. You know, the one you get with your shiny new laptop fresh from the store. The one that your Windows XP, 7, 8, and 8.1 is prompting you to upgrade to in the corner of your screen. The free upgrade that will no longer be free a few months from now.

When I tell people never to upgrade to Windows 10, I wholeheartedly mean it. Not just for those I like and care about. I mean it for every single person I hate on this planet, for those I mildly dislike, and for those I’d sooner see burn than piss on ’em to put out the fire. Every. Single. Person. If you have the option, do not upgrade. If you’re willing to learn a new OS, switch to a Linux system (if you computer can handle it that is). There’s many to choose from.

I, unfortunately, cannot switch to Linux as I had planned to do today. After doing my due diligence research, it is damn near impossible to get a Linux system to work correctly on the Acer Aspire One Cloudbook. ANY Cloudbook. Until someone figures out all the bugs and how to do it smoothly and have it work, I’m stuck with Windows 10. But by the gods I don’t have to like it.

And again, if all you can afford is the Acer Aspire One Cloudbook, then go to a pawn shop. you’ll get something used, true, but it’ll be a thousand times better than this piece of shit “computer” and will be a little closer to your price range if the Cloudbook is looking attractive because of it’s price tag.

Leave a Reply

