Motherfuckin’ Deadpool

4816244-7+(2)

So husband and I went to go see Deadpool for Valentines Day. And y’know what? Of the one, maybe 2 films we get to see in theatres a year, this was the PERFECT date movie for us. I LOVE Deadpool, and Fox really did the right thing by giving him his own movie, casting the same guy as Deadpool, and fixing the mistake that was X-Men Origins: Wolverine. All while making fun of the first attempt to put the Pool on the big screen. And making fun of Hugh Jackman in the process. Though to be fair, it was all in good fun. So no hard feelings between the almighty SkullPooL and Wolverine.

But seriously, this movie was PERFECT for husband and I, and will definately be on the BluRay list of stuff to get when it comes out. See, the reason it was so perfect is because husband and I are, to put it bluntly, just the right type of crazy that matches each other’s type of crazy, to make this big ball of crazy. And honestly, if husband were a super hero, here’s how it would pan out….. Captain America is the ideal. Iron Man/Tony Stark is what he thinks he is. Deadpool is what he actually would be.

But throughout the interactions between Wade Wilson and his girlfriend, we kept sneaking glances at each other because the banter, the fun, the crazy between those two – it’s like our crazy. It’s so similar to our banter. Our fun. And though sometimes we fight (and I put that lightly, but honestly when we fight it’s like Red Hulk and Green Hulk SMASH!) that is pretty much our relationship. Minus the cancer. And the mercinary thing. (I would say minus the prostitute/stripper thing, but let’s be honest – husband has a colourful past. And we’ll leave that there.)

But seriously, that movie was a whole lot of fun, and it was PERFECT because at the end of the day, if I were ever kidnapped by an evil arch enemy from my husband’s past… He’d put on the suit, grab a couple of buddies, and throw me in a tube that I just broke out of to save my life falling from an abandoned and deteriorating ship in an abandoned shipyard.

I’m not exagerating for comedic effect here. If that were a real scenario, that is EXACTLY how my husband would react as well. Which is nice I guess, scary, but nice. And the fact that I can even think of a point where that might ever be a genuinely real scenario only serves to underscore the his crazy and my crazy are a good match for crazy. Plus, his thought processes aren’t exactly what one would call rational or normal at times (that’s part and parcel with his particular type and flavor on the Autism spectrum) so these hypothetical scenarios hold equal, in his perspective, potenal for happening as the more likely types (such as running out of milk at an inconvenient time). As such, he always has the “if X happens then I will do Y to correct it” already worked out. Even for the most unlikely and most impossible of scenarios.

It’s comforting to know, I guess, that if we have a zombie apocalypse happen he’s already got a plan for that. And if we run out of milk and eggs at a time when I need to bake a cake or whatever, he’s got a plan for that as well.

Tangents. Yes, that’s what we have here. Fitting for a Deadpool post.

Anyway, after the movie, we went out to dinner where I ate all you can eat pancakes at I-Hop because I freaking love pancakes. And he doesn’t have his dentures yet so I knew it was a place we could get food he wouldn’t have a hard time eating.

The entire evening was lovely, and filled with so much laughter and joy. And then we rounded the night off with cuddling and watching an episode of Ash Vs. Evil Dead.

It was the best Valentines we’ve had together. (A grand total of 4 so far.) And I look forward to many, many more like it or better.

2-12-16-Podcast3

One response to “Motherfuckin’ Deadpool

Leave a Reply

