Halloween is nearly upon us!

So…. Halloween. Or All Hallows Eve. Or Samhain. Or “that free candy day”. Or whatever anyone wishes to call it. It’s only a very few short days away, and I can’t wait.

I’m taking my son out trick-or-treating this year, and he’s going as Iron Man. I’m also going to be sitting up late watching scary movies (or at least, I think they’re scary!) with the hubby. And if I still can’t sleep, I’ll probably play some video games. I’m doing another play through of Star Ocean, and I’m nearing the end of disc 1. Then I’ll probably pick up where I left off on Legend of Dragoon.

I’m also going to be doing some practice baking with my gluten-free mixes and flour alternatives since I’m a bit rusty at it. While it’s easy enough to replace all purpose flour in most of my recipes with white rice flour, it doesn’t always work. And it’s been quite a while since I’ve strayed off my wheat-free diet (which I’m having to restart and stick to for good this time) so it’s gonna take a LOT of practice to remember how to do my special gravies and my special holiday cookies perfectly with the substitutions. I’m also wishing I could use my food stamp card online because I’d be all over Bob’s Mill buying rice flour in bulk because I do a LOT of homemade stuff to begin with, and the quantities available in my local grocery stores just are too little for the price. Regular flour prices have spoiled me! A 4lb bag of all purpose for less than $3 or a  24oz bag of white rice flour for nearly $4. The baking mixes aren’t much better I’m afraid. Even with Walmart level prices, it’s ridiculous!

Husband is wanting to learn how to make our own rice flour, just in case it would be more cost effective that way. While initially opposed to the idea, I’m starting to support it just from a price standpoint alone. Buying rice in bulk is soooooo cheap where I live, whereas gluten free products around here are soooooooo much more expensive than anything else. I mean, the prices of the products in the stores around here alone, unless it’s already gluten-free (like most tortilla chips, or rice krispies, and stuff like that) are at MINIMUM double the prices of other products, and often cost more (in the stores here locally to me) than the fancy pants organic stuff, too. For example: a regular cake mix.

Betty Crocker yellow cake mix averages around $2 (this is average price of Publix, Kroger, Ingles, and Walmart; this is the cheapest name brand in my local stores) and yields 2 spongy/fluffy 9″ round layers; one 13″x9″ sheet cake approximately 2-2 1/2 inches thick; or approximately 12 average sized cupcakes

Betty Crocker Gluten-Free yellow cake mix averages around $4.95 (average price of Publix, Kroger, Ingles, and Walmart; this is the ONLY gluten free cake mix option at all stores BUT Publix) and yields 1 dense 9″ round layer (dense like a pound cake); one 13″x9″ sheet cake approximately 1 to 1 1/2 inches thick; or approximately 6 average sized cupcakes

And that’s JUST the cake mixes. The cookies are RIDICULOUS, and don’t even get me started on the price of ONE microwave burrito. I mean JFC.

So, to combat the high prices, I buy what I can to make what I can from scratch. I’ve got bookmarks after bookmarks on my computer about how to make pasta at home using rice flour instead of any other flour. I’ve got 2 old cookbooks with flour-free recipes color coded with sticky notes sticking out of them. And another gluten-free cookbook with even more sticking out because some of the products I can’t even find in the ONE health food store here in town. Unfortunately, like I said before…. a 4lb bag of regular flour, less than $3. A paltry 24oz (1.5lb) bag of white rice flour (which is the cheapest btw) is nearly $4.

So yeah, totally gonna learn how to make it myself. I can buy 8lbs of rice here for cheaper and have plenty of flour for day to day cooking and baking for the month. The ONLY roadblock is to buy a really REALLY good blender that can crack grains. But basically, the expense would be worth it, and end up paying for itself. I think I’ll drop a hint about what I want for Mother’s Day.

Anyway, what does this even have to do with Halloween? Well, Halloween is the start of the baking and holiday cooking season!

One response to “Halloween is nearly upon us!

  1. Hope you guys had a good Halloween/Samhain. I used to eat gluten free and I do remember the extra cost. We eat low-carb which can be just as pricey. My husband buys special low carb bread and it’s wreaking havoc with our food budget. We bake with almond flour, which is very expensive. So, I don’t do much baking.

    Like

Leave a Reply

