Looking at my stats, it never ceases to amaze me.

So I’m looking at my stats page, like I do every day, just to gauge my readership and which content seems to be more popular and the like.

Of all the features on the WordPress stats page, my favorite is undoubtedly the map. I mean, I can get 1 or 100 views on my blog – but if they all come from one place, usually America, I’m just kind of “meh” about it. But then I see the ever elusive global views. Today, I logged in and saw 8 views from the Netherlands.

It could be 8 different people, or one person looking at 8 different things, or any combination of a few people looking at a few things. Doesn’t matter. What matters to me is that someone in the Netherlands decided “hey, this looks interesting” and gave me a look. And that makes me smile. It makes me so incredibly happy.

Iron Man, Robert Downey Jr. himself, could come down from the heavens amidst a choir of AC/DC throwing tacos at people, and it still wouldn’t make me as happy as logging in and seeing “hey! this foreign person thought I was kinda rad!” (Though it’d be really cool if RDJ came down throwing tacos at everyone while wearing his Iron Man suit and there’s this massive AC/DC concert going on behind him. I mean, that would be pretty damn cool.)

Leave a Reply

