Late Nights with Spongebob.

After months and months of not knowing what to do when my son inevitably woke up for the 3rd, 4th, 5th time of the night, we have finally found the perfect solution. Well, mostly perfect. Put in the Spongebob Squarepants Movie, hand the kid a bottle with the handles on it, and let him be. He’ll drink his milk, he’ll watch his Bob-Bob, and he’ll pass out. Eventually.

He is 10 months, almost 11 months old. He is set in his ways already. He wants his dad for everything… but dad can’t sit up till 5AM and party party party. Neither can mom. This last week has been particularly rough. And two nights ago, it was the worst. The kid went through 4 bottles and still wasn’t out. (Usually he passes out in the middle of the first or second.) So, the time nearing 3AM, we didn’t know what else to do. He didn’t want to go to sleep, we couldn’t let him run around on the floor (the temp dropped below 30 degrees F and we have a gas heater we use at night) so I did the only thing I could think of.

I turned on the TV, dropped the first DVD I could lay my hands on into the player built in the back, slapped handles onto his bottle, and plopped him back in his crib. He was out before the movie was half over. And now, that’s what we do on nights like this one.

I’m having trouble sleeping anyway – my arthritis is kicking in hardcore and it’s hard for me to sit with him in my arms and lap for long stretches. But I can sit beside his crib, watch his movie with him, and work on my stories while he has his milk, has his Bob-Bob, and just chills out for the night. Occasionally he’ll try to sing along with the musical numbers. Safe and secure with his Spongebob stuffed pillow toy, his security blanket, and his warm footie pajamas.

Leave a Reply

