30 Day Tarot Challenge: #3

Hey guys. If you’re just tuning in, I’m taking part in the 30 Day Tarot Challenge. If you wanna join in or check it out or whatever, here’s the link to Calamity’s post on it.

Now then, on to the next question….

#3: Do you have more than one deck that you use and if so do you have a favorite? If not, why do you like the deck you have chosen?

I used to have oodles. I have a mix of both Tarot and Oracle decks. Now I have maybe….. Dunno. I’ll list them. At least, the ones I can think of off the top of my head.

  • The Manga Tarot (my favorite and used for readings)
  • The Lord of the Rings Tarot
  • The Lord of the Rings Oracle
  • Universal Love Oracle (readings)
  • Universal Wisdom Oracle (readings)
  • Messages from the Fairies Oracle
  • The I-Ching Cards (plus coins)
  • Healing with the Fairies Oracle
  • The Wisdom of Avalon Oracle
  • The Feng Shui Tarot (occasional readings)
  • The Rider Waite Tarot (my husband’s deck, but it was absorbed into my collection)
  • The Quick and Easy Tarot (my husbands deck, again another assimilation to my collection)
  • The Universal Fantasy Tarot (readings and inspiration)
  • Ask an Angel Oracle (readings for christians)
  • Angels, Gods, and Goddesses Oracle (readings for open minded christians)
  • Ascended Masters Oracle
  • and one more that has fairies but I can’t remember the name of it right now.

I used to work mostly with the Feng Shui Tarot, as it was the first deck I actually clicked with (but the second that I owned). Now I primarily work with Lo Scarabeo’s Manga Tarot. I used to have the US Games version, but I gave that to my niece who was both in need of a deck of her own and is highly obsessed with all things manga and anime.

I click best with The Manga Tarot because it is a rather detailed deck. I pick up on cycles and patterns in my workings, and this deck breaks things down into not only the typical suits and colors and directions and elements, but also into the seasons of the year. The cards are also switched in their vibrations. Traditionally male cards are female, and the traditionally female cards are male. (Example: The Sun is traditionally male with The Moon being female. In my deck it’s reversed.)  In the court cards the female cards rank higher than the male. (Lowest to Highest: Prince, Princess, King, Queen.) While most see this as a move toward a stronger matriarchal symbolism, I see it on a more personal level. I found this deck during a period in my life where I was at my most gender dysphoric, and the switching of the male and female cards, as well as the reordering, felt to me to be an illustration of what I was going through on a personal and psychological level. I am biologically female, but my gender, at the time, was staunchly male. This deck has actually helped me come to terms with my dysphoria and realize that I am gender fluid and fluctuate, as my cards and decks do, between the masculine and feminine. However, this personal meaning for me, I do NOT use when I read for others with this deck. It’s just my own personal thing.

Leave a Reply

