Artwork: The Doctor’s TARDIS

In 2005, I was in a severe depression. I was in a state of mind where I believed I should not still be alive. I had turned 18, nearly died twice at 16 due to health related issues. I just graduated high school, and had no drive. No purpose. I slept all day, wrote stories or played video games all night. I avoided people and everything that made life worth living. I was a wreck.

My mum was at wit’s end. She had done everything just short of send me away to a hospital to help me.

One day, she was watching television. Specifically the Sci-fi channel. They advertised something called Doctor Who starring Christopher Eccleston. My older brother had been a fan of the original show. My mum knew I liked sci-fi and time travel and space and all things odd. She felt that if she could get me to leave my room for an hour, it would be some kind of progress. So she hatched a plan and made note of the premier date.

When the day and time rolled around, she bribed me out of my room with Hotpockets (practically the only thing I was eating at the time.) I was not allowed to have them unless I sat down and watched TV with her. Just for an hour. So I did. That was the first time I had given a true smile in two years. I got up when it was done, went back to my room. The next week, she did it again. She kept doing it. By the time of the finale, I was talking to her again (about the show at least) and coming out of my room earlier and earlier in anticipation of the new episode of the week. By the last episode of the season, and David Tennant’s first words as the Doctor, I was hooked and I had finally been shaken out of my funk.

I can legitimately say that had it not been for Doctor Who, and specifically the character of Captain Jack Harkness, I would not be alive today. Seeing Jack so blatantly flirt with anyone and everyone, without shame or question, helped me to become comfortable with who and what I am. And had it not been for my mum’s unconditional love, support, and unconventional use of a television, I really don’t know what I would have done.

So, here is some artwork I’ve done over the years centering around the Doctor’s time travel capsule, the TARDIS.

The last one is my actual Christmas tree topper I use every year.

07857ac684d25ee9ef4ba2d730acc880-d1rq1q6 building_a_tardis_2_by_the_lady_harkness-d1u2pmq dw_riversong_journal_1a_by_the_lady_harkness-d3fkh0r dw_riversong_journal_2a_by_the_lady_harkness-d3fkhfe ecb5078e93c759f2ca0476bc990ce1c4-d1rljej f382de8d2369232350c2c662f105cbb3-d4bdcii TARDIS_project___blueprints_by_the_lady_harkness tardis_tree_topper_by_the_lady_harkness-d4j3sn8

Leave a Reply

