Do Not Put the Jello in the Cake.

I love to cook. I love to bake.

One of my family famous desserts is my Jello Cake. Normally a Jello Cake is just a regular white or yellow sheet cake. Either from a mix of homemade. Doesn’t matter. Once cooled, you poke a mess of holes in it, and pour on your favorite flavor of Jello. Then, you pop it in the fridge for about 4 hours to let the gelatin set in the cake. When it’s time to eat it, top it with fresh fruit and whip cream. Pop left overs back into the fridge.

Well tonight I decided to get a little creative. That and just plain lazy. Instead of doing the usual, I put the gelatin mix in with the cake mix and baked it.

BIG MISTAKE!

The cupcakes I made came out sort of… candy like. The tops fell off and became cookie-like. The insides were stuck to the pan, despite using my usual butter/flour combo to keep it from sticking.

In the end, I scraped the orange cream flavored cake remnants from the muffin tin and mixed it in with some french vanilla pudding for a late night snack tonight. Initial tasting was promising.

Leave a Reply

